Chapter 6. Just Colleagues

FRIDAY, 5:20 P.M.
*

*
“Ow!  Ow!  Stop hitting me!” Sean said before doubling over, laughing.
*
“You…you ass!  Now I know why you waited until I was already in the damn car to tell me!  How could you do this to me? ” I demanded, trying to incinerate him with my glare.
*
“Eddie….” Sean said cajolingly.  “It’s just my sister and–”
*
“And your mother!  And I’m dressed in my stupid t-shirt and my silly purple-laced sneakers and I have on no makeup!” I snapped.
*
*
*


*
“Baby, I think you’re beautiful.  Quit freaking out!  You look fine!” Sean said.
*
“I can’t meet your mother and sister tonight!  I need time to…to…” I trailed off, searching for the right words.
*
“To stop hyperventilating?” he asked.  When I reared up to start hitting him again he hopped back and said, “Hey! There are witnesses–you don’t want to be arrested for battering your boyfriend at a gas station, now do you?”
*
My eyes widened when he referred to himself as my boyfriend.
*
*
*

*
“Less than twenty-four hours have passed since we….we uh….” I stammered.
*
“Agreed to start seeing each other romantically?” Sean prompted.
*
“Yeah.  Less than twenty-four hours!  And you’re already introducing me to your family!” I  said.
*
“I’ve already met your parents!” Sean laughed.
*
“That’s different!” I snapped.
*
*
*


*
“Look, Eddie…it’s not like I did this on purpose.  I’d already set up the visit before we agreed to start dating.  All they know is that I’m bringing a colleague along because we’re going into Chestnut Park for a case.  My mom lives just outside Chestnut Park.” Sean explained.
*
“So….so they think I’m just a colleague?” I asked.
*
“So far.  And if you really want, I won’t say anything about us dating….this visit.”  Sean said.
*
“Really?” I asked.
*
*
*


*
“Really.” Sean said, smiling.  “But just a word of warning–they’ll pick up on it anyway.”
*
“Don’t tell me that!  You’re a great actor.  I have faith in your abilities.” I said.
*
“I can’t act around my family–they know me too well.”  He stared at me a few beats before adding, “You know, you are the strangest thing.  You’ve been in truly dangerous situations and faced them head on–and yet you tremble at the idea of meeting members of my family?”
*
“I’m just…messed up.” I said.  “I’m sorry.  I warned you.”
*
“I can handle it.  It’ll be worth it.” Sean said.  “Now, can I fuel up the car, or are you going to beat me up some more?”
*
*
*


*
By the time we were back on the road, I’d managed to calm down enough to realize that I had a lot of questions.
*
“You said you had something to take care of there, so I know this isn’t just a social visit.  What’s going on?” I asked.
*
I heard him take a deep breath before he answered me.
*
“My sister has requested my investigative services.” he said.
*
I waited for him to continue, and when he didn’t I finally said, “And?”
*
“Darcy couldn’t tell me too much about it on the phone, but….she thinks her husband might be cheating on her.” Sean said.
*
“An infidelity case?  Wow.” I said.  “I thought Rocca Investigations wouldn’t accept those.”
*
*
*


*
“Normally we don’t.  We did when we first opened, but as soon as we started breaking even and building up clientele, we started turning them down.  But it’s my sister.  It’s more like a favor, really.  I’m not going to charge her.” Sean said.
*
This is certainly not the way I want to meet his sister.
*
“This is certainly not the best time to meet your sister.” I said.
*
“Tell me about it.  Believe me, I thought about telling her no.” Sean said.
*
*
*


*
“So her name is Darcy, and she’s married to Jeff.” I prompted, resigned to the fact that it was going to happen.  I wanted to gather as much information as possible, as if it were little bits of armor I could hide behind.
*
“Yes.  She’s my eldest sister.” Sean said.
*
“How many siblings do you have?” I asked.
*
“Three.  Two older sisters, one younger brother.  Darcy, Eileen, and Liam.” Sean replied.
*
*
*


*
“A younger brother?” I asked.  “How old is he?  For that matter, how old are you?”  I’d never thought to ask, and interrogating him was proving to be a welcome distraction.  Otherwise, I’d dwell on the fact that I was going to meet his mother.  And his sister.
*
“Liam is twenty-five.  And I’m twenty-seven.” Sean said.
*
“Huh.” I said.  I was younger than Sean’s youngest brother…it was by less than a year, but still.  “Maybe I should meet Liam.  Is he married or engaged?” I asked.   I wasn’t over the whole surprise visit thing yet, and I was feeling vindictive.
*
*
*


*
“No, he’s unattached.  But you are not.  Unless I misunderstood what our talk was about last night.” he said softly.  His voice sounded odd…like he was actually concerned that I was serious.
*
My irritation evaporated, and I even felt a little guilty.
*
“It’s true that I’m sorta attached.” I said in an airy tone.  “Guess I’ll have to pass him up–which is a shame, because if he’s even half as hot as his older brother, then I’m really missing out.”
*
Sean’s slow smile was my reward.  “You already have the older brother.  Don’t be greedy.”

*

*

*

A little extra for those who are interested–Lookit! I made a gas station!

32 thoughts on “Chapter 6. Just Colleagues

    • Tipix7: Thank you! I’m loving the Chaos Painting–it really, really helps out sometimes. 🙂

      I thought we’d see the family’s reaction to her in this chapter, but their conversation took a bit longer than I expected.

  1. I loved this! So sweet and realistic and romantic and gah….*little pink hearts float over my head*

    Ooh, I’ll have to check out the gas station! Very good shots of it – and I’m always amazed by how far Sims 3 CC has come lately.

    My favorite was Sean getting a little upset about Ed and his brother. 🙂

    Yay, can’t wait to see her meet his family!

    • Medleymisty: I’m so glad you liked it! 🙂

      Actually, I didn’t have to use any CC for it–Fast Lane Stuff wasn’t a bad stuff pack, really. I was all “what am I going to use as a gas pump?” and then I realized on the way home from picking up the stuff pack that it had gas pumps! Nifty, no?

      Sean probably didn’t realize before the conversation that Ed is closer to his brother’s age than his own….that might have freaked him out a little. 🙂

      I am excited about the scenes with the family, myself. I think that was what got in the way of this post for the longest–I was too excited about what was to come and I didn’t dedicate enough attention to taking pics the first time for this part. I thought we’d be meeting his family in this post, so I went ahead and started prepping for it and taking pics…but it turns out that it won’t be until the next post.

      • Oh! Err – I guess you can tell I don’t play the game anymore, huh?

        That is nifty!

        Oh yeah, I’ve had that problem before – being too excited about a big plot point coming up and as a result dragging my feet and not focusing on what I’m currently doing. It doesn’t show, though – this is awesome. 🙂

  2. I can see why he didn’t tell her where they were going – and I probably would have reacted the same way as Ed! True, he’d already set the visit up before they started dating, but he didn’t tell her then either.

    I loved some of the moments in this: especially Ed’s realisation that their talk meant that Sean was her “boyfriend” and Sean’s twinge of jealousy when she joked about how she should maybe meet Liam.

    So, Darcy thinks her husband is cheating on her? So perhaps now we are getting to the real case instead of just focusing on the underlying story thread that has existed since the first case?

    • Illandrya: He knew that she’d freak out about meeting his mom, even before they were dating. 🙂 He’s sneaky, that Sean…

      They both realized some things in this one, I think–Ed realized that now she actually has a boyfriend, and Sean realized that Ed is actually younger than his younger brother. 🙂

      Yep, this is the case of this story, but I would say it will be a little different since it will actually be a little secondary to the underlying story thread (for this particular story).

  3. Your gas station is incredible! I don’t care if it’s TS2 or TS3, it’s still good.

    and go Ed! “I’m sorta attached”. Work it girl! Completely romantic, pitch perfect!

    • S.B.: Thank you so much! I have a lot of fun building sets sometime….even when I’m using pre-made houses, I usually redecorate unless I’m in a big hurry. It doesn’t compare to your lush sets, but it’ll do for now. 🙂

      The whole relationship thing is still very new for Ed, so she hasn’t quite wrapped her mind around all the changes in her life just yet…. I’m glad you like their exchange. 🙂

  4. Oh! Much yum! Where to begin to comment?

    BOYFRIEND. Big word. Gulp!

    I bet Sean’s mom will find her adorable in her silly mummy Egypt shirt. I am surprised that she isn’t wearing any makeup at all with him though. I know she’s not super girly girly, but still… I guess that’s a good thing.

    I can SO identify with using bits of information as armor. Super real.

    The same parents who named their children Darcy and Liam chose the names Sean and Eileen? Maybe I have weird name categories in my head, but Darcy and Liam seem more British or wealthy or fashion conscious (no Rad, don’t laugh when you read this – I’m not saying British = wealthy or fashionable, lol), while Sean and Eileen seem more down-to-earth and almost gritty somehow. Maybe it’s just me. Please tell me I’m not the only person who holds complete psychosocial profile concepts for every name in her head. 😉 On a semi-related note, where is his dad? Am I supposed to know that? Interesting that Sean is the oldest male among his siblings; that fits with his personality, I think.

    Nice shots all around, and their glances back and forth match the conversation so well. LOVED this chapter.

    • DB: Boyfriend is indeed a big word, especially for Ed. For someone who is generally very quick when it comes to solving a mystery, she’s rather slow at the whole social interaction stuff. 🙂

      Keep in mind that Ed trains in self-defense with Sean–she figures that he’s seen her all sweaty and gross, so no makeup when she thought she was just going straight to a hotel in Chestnut Park seemed like no biggie.

      With regard to the names….I was going for more of an Irish family feel. 🙂 It’s funny that those names would conjure up those images for you, though, since that is definitely not what I was going for….LOL. I don’t think you’re the only one who holds complete psychosocial profile concepts for every name in her head, but perhaps our profile concepts don’t match. Liam Neeson, for example, doesn’t strike me as polished or fashionable in the least…. 😉

      Sean’s dad died, but we don’t know much more than that. Sean hinted at it when he told Ed a little about his past when they were in Paris (Chapter 9. Arrival). It was mentioned in passing, so I’m not surprised that you don’t remember it!

      Thank you so much!

      • Thanks for pointing me to where Ed learned about Sean’s father… now that I’ve re-read that chapter, I feel better prepared to meet the family. 🙂

      • DB: No problem! I took a look at it before I wrote this chapter to make sure I didn’t reveal anything else… 🙂

  5. Too funny! I understand Ed’s reaction to the surprise stop…before we got married, my husband would pull the same thing! 😀 Thanks for the reminder about Sean’s dad…I’m glad I wasn’t the only person wondering! I’ll be sure to reread that chapter. 🙂 Good update! I can’t wait to meet Sean’s family!!!

    • Jules: I got the idea of the surprise stop from my own parents–my dad surprised my mom in the same way when he took her to meet his parents for the first time. 🙂

      It’s been a while since that chapter–it was going to be made clear in the next chapter or two that his father was dead, but I can see why people would wonder right away. 🙂

  6. Too adorable! I know I always say this but I really like it any time you write conversation between Ed and Sean.

    I love Ed’s surprise at Sean referring to himself as her “boyfriend” and at the same time, I love Sean’s lack of hesitance about using the word too. It fits so well for both of their characters.

    • Carla: Thank you! I’m really glad you liked it. 🙂 It took me forever to get the pictures right this time, and the conversation was more extensive than I originally thought it would be.

      It’s like Ed didn’t reason through all the effects of her agreement to try to be with Sean–she’s not upset with the title of “boyfriend”, just taken aback to have it applied to someone in her life again. Quite a shock. I’m glad that it doesn’t seem weird that Sean would be fine with referring to himself as her boyfriend. He’s not scared of that word at all. 🙂

  7. My grin slowly progressed through this whole chapter until finally at the end I looked like a swooning idiot. Why do men in books and stories always have to be so amazing, yet men in real life just don’t measure up? =\

    Excited to see Sean’s family!

    • Amyjobee: lol! I guess because they’re written for a particular purpose….don’t worry, Sean has his bad points too. We just haven’t seen them yet..

      I’m excited to do the scenes with the family, too. 🙂 I’m so glad you liked it!

  8. All of Ed’s mortified looks were too CUTE! His mom will have to love her. I’m very curious about his mother and the rest of his family though.

    But oh man, my heart melted a bit at Sean calling himself her boyfriend. AW! It’s only appropriate that he gets smacked for being so cute and charming.

    I think Ed needs a little bit of pushing from him. It’s good for her. It’s hard to push ourselves, and though she’s doing a great job of stretching herself, I think if he really waited for her without doing anything, he’d be doing a lot of waiting!

    • LunarFox: That Chaos Painting really helped with her mortified looks–it’s actually kinda sad, because they’re under the “confess cheating” y animations (I think), but it was exactly what I needed.

      He’s already thrown himself into this relationship endeavor, so it was nothing for him to toss out that term in reference to himself. He knows it freaks her out a bit, but at the same time he wants it completely clear in her head that he isn’t just trying to get into her pants.

      You are exactly right–as much as Ed asked him for patience, she also needs him to encourage and nudge her sometimes. I think a major part of his role in the relationship is that he needs to be the one to take situations that would really scare her and redescribe them so they aren’t so scary….kinda tricking her into doing things normal couples would do, but calling it something different so that she isn’t stuck on the feeling of it being some sort of milestone.

  9. :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D: :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Dey is bf gf now???? :D:D:D:D:D:D Yay!!!!!! yayayayayayayayayayayayay! Also, FINALLY!!!
    Love Ed’s expressions!
    And I love your gas station! It looks very authentic.

    Does that mean you have Fast Lane???? Can you tell me ’bout it? ‘cos I want it, but I don’t know whether it’s worth it or not…
    Tks!
    Mau99

    http://thesummerdewlegacy.wordpress.com/

    • Mau99: They are indeed boyfriend and girlfriend now–an apparently unexpected consequence of their talk (from Ed’s point of view). I’m glad you like my gas station! I was pleased with the way it turned out.

      I do have Fast Lane. I like it fairly well, but whether you think it is worth it or not probably depends on your playing style. There are a few new household objects, but the things I like the best are the new clothes for the women, and the assortment of cars. There’s at least one convertible, which would probably make picture-taking and posing a dream. But none of the current characters in my stories are the convertible type. 🙂

  10. New romances are always so sweet, and you are capturing it all so beautifully, Rachel. I love Ed and Sean’s chemistry, and how Sean called himself her boyfriend. ^_^

    I’m very looking forward to learning more about Sean’s family too.

    Your gas station looked great! I’m still debating on whether or not to get Fast Lane. I’ll probably break down and get it next month.

    I was hoping would wouldn’t mind talking about how you’re able to get screenshots of them riding and talking in the car? Are you able to use Chaos Mod, or use a camera mod to get that close? I was just wondering!

    Great chapter as usual, thanks. : )

    • Tesseracta: Thank you so much! I just hope their romance doesn’t come across as a little too saccharine… 🙂

      I’m really excited about the posts involving his family. I think it will be interesting to learn more information about him through his family.

      Yeah, I think for a lot of people the Fast Lane stuff is kinda a take-or-leave thing. I probably wouldn’t have picked it up, but I was feeling a little bored with the game and thought something new for it would be fun.

      The screenshots of them in the car–I’m actually pretty proud of those, too, so I’m actually thrilled that you asked! They were a bit of a pain to get, because I actually had to fake it using the invisible furniture that LunarFox made (the barstool in this case because of the height of the SUV) and some of the OPHs. I was wondering if anyone would notice that Ed and Sean are actually talking in the car–something that does not happen in game! Since I was posing them on a lot, I had to position them in places where there wasn’t actually a road and just zoom in so it wasn’t as noticeable that they weren’t on a street. I was able to use the in-game camera to get fairly close, but when all else fails I hit the Alt button to get closer shots. I’m really, really glad you noticed because those were some difficult shots to get. You have to get them started on a conversation while sitting on the stools, then pause, move them onto the OPHs, then move them into position in the vehicle. 🙂

  11. Hi Rachel, just wanted to let you know I am reading! I started Story Three, and am having no problem getting into the groove of the narrative or the characters! And yes, I am enjoying the romance, very real, very sweet. And *jawdrop* a chapter or two ago at Nick. Yow. Is that the muscle slider? I am so envious, would kill for that in TS2.
    Will be reading more real soon! *adds to google reader*

    • Drew: I’m so glad to know you aren’t having any trouble jumping in–I’ve wondered how well it would work.

      Yay! I know that romance doesn’t go over well with some readers, so I’m always happy to hear when people like it!

      Nick’s lovely abs were mostly due to the non-default skintone, at the time that chapter was written. Even with the muscle slider maxed out, the definition just wasn’t there. With the advent of the new Late Night muscle sliders and a new non-default skintone that works with the new sliders (but was based on the old, hairy skintone), he looks even better!

      Thank you so much for taking a chance on my story! 🙂

Leave a comment