Resurfacing…

Hello gentle, patient, lovely, wonderful readers. I am trying to get back to this story. There have been a few obstacles. My usual excuses are still in full force, plus a few additional ones. For instance, this happened:

woooo

Yeah. It was early days before, so I didn’t want to announce it here, and now I’m five months along. Whew.  The nausea and fatigue were pretty bad earlier, and now the fatigue still lingers. When I do have a bit of energy, I tend to devote it to the stuff that absolutely has to get done, and that means there is a bit less time for hobbies. Especially ones that involve super slow computers and software that works only a portion of the time. That brings me to the second issue…..

The hubby upgraded our desktop to Windows 10, and as expected, the game didn’t magically load. It doesn’t load at all. I have to do a complete reinstall and hope that works to get the game back. I have been reading forum posts from others who have been similarly afflicted, and I have a few ideas about how to get it going again. I’m a little worried about my prospects of getting some of my mods to work–so I may have to work with an almost vanilla version (shudder). I’m going to begin working on that today–but even if I get it to work today, odds are I couldn’t play for pictures until next weekend. In any case, I wanted to let everyone know that I am alive, I haven’t forgotten that I have a story I need to finish, and that I am trying to get it going again! Sorry!

26 thoughts on “Resurfacing…

    • Violincat: The story definitely took a back seat! Gosh…I can’t believe how long I’ve been away from it. I still don’t know exactly when I will find the time. I *think* the game is working now–I am trying to remember exactly what happened when I last booted up, but I’m pretty sure all I had to do was redownload a bunch of CC .Anywho, I hope to get back to writing the ending of this thing soon!!

  1. Congratulations on your pregnancy! I hope the rest of it goes smoothly for you. I understand your dilemma for sure. We will all be waiting when you get the chance to post. Wishing you health and happiness!

    • Phyrcracker93: Thank you for the nomination, but I just can’t accept any awards. As you can see, it took me months and months to even approve and respond to your comment. I’m so sorry!

  2. Congratulations, Rachel! You’re over halfway through now – wow! I totally understand you’ve had other things going on in your life. 🙂

    As for your game, ugh! I am not looking forward to Windows 10 at all. I hope you can figure out some sort of solution, hopefully with all of your CC in tact.

    • I *think* I may have got it to work…but wow, have I been away a while. I wasn’t able to piece together any time to do it before the baby arrived, and I don’t know when I’ll be able to again. Man.

    • Zoxell: Thank you so much–I’m so honored, but I really can’t accept. I’m so behind on everything and it took me so long to even reply to your comment….there’s no way I can honestly accept, but thank you for the nomination.

  3. I’m just stopping by to ask how are you doing 🙂 I know you have been pretty busy with kids etc. so I don’t want to rush you with the story – I’m only a bit worried because you didn’t show up for so long. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas time and I wish you happy New Year!

    • Eva: You actually commented the very day my child was born! I was in the hospital when I saw your comment hit my inbox. I am just now starting to get used to being a mommy of a newborn again, and to having two kids instead of just one. It has been a real adjustment, for sure. I’m hoping to get some writing done in the near future, but I am also trying to be realistic. I did have a wonderful Christmas, and thank you for the New Year’s wishes–I hope your new year has been shaping up to be great.

  4. Congrats! Hope you all are doing well 🙂 I get to post myself or comment on other blogs maybe twice a year, and I don’t have a baby/small children anymore. So totally understand the absence 🙂

  5. Funnily enough, the Edith Prescott Mystery story popped into my head the other day and I couldn’t help but swing by your blog to see if *maybe* jusssttt maybe you had written another chapter lol. It might have been two years since your last post but I’m sure I’m not the only reader that still holds out to see if maybe Ed & Scott will ever be reunited? Either way, I just want to say that I loved that you shared this story with us all and I think you’re a terrific writer! Wishing you all the best!

    • Stephanie, I can’t believe that you posted this comment on the very day that I finally got enough wherewithal to boot up the game and get pictures for the next post. Thank you for being so patient with me, and so kind. I should have a post soon. 🙂

Leave a comment