Chapter 15. Jennifer

*

*

*


By the time Sean came back with the pizza, I’d already found contact information for two of the students in the picture with Scott.  But the third student–the blonde right beside my brother–she was proving to be difficult.

“Jennifer Smith.  Seriously.” I said aloud for what had to be the eleventh time.  “Her parents should be shot.  I mean, they can’t help the ‘Smith’ part, but ‘Jennifer’? Everyone’s named Jennifer.” I had given over the computer search to Nick when my own meager skills couldn’t narrow down the possibilities.

“Jennifer was a popular name for their age group.  I knew quite a few Jennifers in school.” Sean said.

“Yeah, now that you mention it, me too.” Nick said.
*
*
*

There were a lot of Jennifer Smiths in the world, and it seemed like most of them had attended Sim State University around the same time Scott had.

“Well, at least you have the other two ready to go.  How do you plan to contact them?” Sean asked.

“Nick and I were talking about it, and we agree that an email sent their way might be the best approach, and less likely to freak them out.  Everyone is kinda used to the whole, ‘someone found me by looking me up on the interwebs’ thing, but if they knew that I had their phone numbers and addresses it might scare them.  So, just an email, at first.”

“Sounds sensible.”
*
*
*

After a few minutes of Sean and I talking about the searches I’d used, Nick spoke up.

“It’s going to take a bit longer to track down this particular Jennifer Smith, and we might have to start making calls or sending emails to rule some of them out.  I’ll work on this for the next few days, but if I don’t catch a break soon we’re going to have to make a list and sort it by the ones who sound the most promising.”
*
*
*

Sean had looked down at the group photo.

“Is Scott holding her hand? It looks like he might be holding her hand.”

“Ed pointed that out earlier.” Nick said.

“That’s why it’s so frustrating-she might be the last person he was involved with romantically, so she might be able to tell us whether he was acting strangely or anything.” I said.

“Well, maybe the other two will know where to find her?” Sean suggested.

“I hope so.”
*
*
*

“In the meantime, we still have a lot of leads.” Nick pointed out.  “You can work on talking to the mayor’s office to see if anyone knows what happened with that internship, and I’ll keep working on finding the correct Jennifer Smith.”

Around nine, I started getting ready to leave.  Sean stood up to walk me out.
*
*
*

“So tomorrow night I get you all to myself.” he said as we walked to my car.

“Looks that way.  Unless Nick decides that he needs another training session.”

“I told him to stay the hell away because I’ll be making you dinner.”

I’d wondered if he remembered that he wanted to have a real date.

“Can I bring anything?”
*
*
*

“Just yourself.  Though, some sexy undies might be nice.” He said, then burst out laughing at my look of panic.  “Just kidding, Eddie-it really is too easy with you, you know.”

“Sorry.  I embarrass too easily.” I said.

“I like that about you, for the most part.”  He paused for a moment slowly saying, “Though, if you want to bring something…well, how about pajamas?  I’m not trying to get into your pants–much–but I really liked our little slumber party weekend.  I liked waking up next to you.”

“Oh.” I said, smiling.
*
*
*

“I mean, I know it’s fast, and I won’t ask you to stay over every night or anything like that, but…if you liked it, I thought I’d suggest it.”

I almost jumped at his offer, but a thought snuck into my head.

“I’ve been dealing with my nightmares for years–you don’t have to worry about me.”

He looked momentarily confused before his expression cleared.
*
*
*

“Baby, I’m seriously just being selfish here–I like sleeping with you.  I like you being in bed with me.  I don’t need your nightmares as an excuse.”

“Then I’ll bring my pajamas.” I said, then pulled him forward by his shirt to kiss him lightly.

“Good.  I can’t promise I won’t try to talk you out of them, but I know how to take ‘no’ for an answer.”
*
*
*


I could tell that he was joking, but I thought it warranted an honest reply anyway. “I can’t promise you’ll be successful, but I hope you don’t get fed up and stop trying.” I said.  In response, he gave me an intense, deep kiss, and I drove away with a huge smile on my face.

26 thoughts on “Chapter 15. Jennifer

  1. Anytime I see Nick, I can’t help imagining a little bit of jealousy there. I think it’s all in my head for the most part, aside from what we talked about a while back with him missing the attention of someone crushing on him. But still, I can’t help thinking it serves him right, lol. (How dare he be taken by someone that makes Ed feel inadequate for even a second.)

    And Sean, oh sneaky Sean. That picture of him smiling towards the end is perfectly mischievous. Meanwhile Ed has a perfect dear in headlights look to her, lol. These two are such a cute pair.

    • Lunarfox: Nick is fairly innocent here….whether he’s jealous or not, well, we’ll probably find evidence one way or another at some point. LOL about it serving him right, though. 🙂

      Sean is very sneaky, but in a charming sort of way. Ed’s first reaction to some of Sean’s more er…direct hints is still to panic, but she’s getting more used to the idea. I think their date will be pretty interesting…unfortunately, I probably can’t do the pictures for it until after Christmas.

      Thank you for reading and commenting!

    • Hrootbeer: I did too, LOL. I looked up the most common baby name for that age group and sure enough, Jennifer was in the top ten. 🙂

      I’m so glad you liked it! Thank you for reading and commenting!

  2. I love the interaction between Sean and Ed! So cute! I also knew quite a few Jennifers but none of them had a “common” last name. I can imagine that the search was quite frustrating! I hope they have some luck finding her! (I also hope she’s willing to work with them when they do find her…)

    • Jules: Thank you! I’m glad you like their back-and-forth. 🙂

      A search like that would be pretty frustrating, but not impossible. They should be able to find her, but it will take longer than they thought. You bring up an excellent point–there’s no guarantee that she’ll be willing to help.

      Thank you for reading and commenting!

  3. I’m glad they’re getting somewhere, I was so worried that their progress would stall again. Okay, maybe they can’t find all the people in the photo just yet but two out of three after one night of searching isn’t bad. Curious to know what they can tell Ed about her brother and his disappearance or if they’re even able to or willing to talk about it. They may have been paid off or been fed a false story that sends Ed in the wrong direction or … sorry, got carried away there 😀 I love mysteries.

    Sean is so adorable. He knows just how far he can push Ed – not so far that it sends her screaming for the hills, but enough to get her to take a step outside her comfort zone.

    PS: In my school year the name was Nicole. In a class of 42 there were 4 Nicoles!

    • Illandrya: Two out of three isn’t bad, so Ed still feels like they’re making progress. She just thinks that if Scott was involved with Jennifer, she may have been more privy to details from his personal life and what was going on with him at the time. We may not find out what they know until the next story, given the way the chapters for this story are planned…

      You’re exactly right–Sean loves to push Ed a little and he seems to have a pretty good idea of her limits. 🙂

      See, everyone has the names that were really popular….I think we had a few Jennifers, and a few Ashleys.

      Thank you for reading and commenting on my story!

  4. I really wish i knew a jennifer now. I feel so deprived(!) I loved this update. And once again i was waaaay too excited by the update notice. My first thought was that ‘Jennifer’ was a EVIL EX OF SEAN’S and i was so worried! I was hating her on prinicpal. Then i read it and was like Oh.
    I really love sean and ed! So much! They’re just so adorable…I feel like the mother of the bride. Because im odd that way.

    • E: I’m surprised you don’t know a Jennifer! It’s always seemed like a fairly popular name in my class, but every year is a little different. 🙂

      I’m so glad you like the chapter, and that you were excited about it! Nope, Jennifer is someone who knew Scott–we don’t know the name of any of Sean’s exes yet. 🙂

      Ed is a bit far away from being a bride, but I understand how you feel. 😉 Thank you so much for reading and commenting on my story!

  5. Awww! I love this cover – Ed and Sean’s first Christmas!

    I love when Sean teases Ed! It’s so funny but it’s like he says, she’s such an easy target. He’s a sweetheart and I love that he’s so patient with Ed.

    “But still, I can’t help thinking it serves him right, lol.”

    Aw, poor Nick! I didn’t sense much jealousy this time but I definitely did last time (or was it the time before that).

    Jennifer’s parents should have considered the possibility of a private investigator needing to track her down one day before they gave her such a generic name, lol!

    I don’t think Jennifer has ever been that popular here in Australia. Everyone in my age group was named Catherine – there were so many Catherines, Katies, Kates and Cathys in my class at school.

    • Carla: Thank you! I wanted to use my Christmas decorations and I thought it would be pretty sweet.

      Sean loves to tease Ed, and he knows it really flusters her. 🙂

      LOL at feeling sorry for Nick. We’ll find out more about his feelings a bit later. I am excited about getting into his story. 🙂

      I think that is exactly how Ed feels about Jennifer’s parents, lol….

      Differences in the regions of the world and their names are fascinating to me. 🙂 I’ve never known that many Catherines…

      Thank you for reading and commenting!

  6. I’m hoping the other two will know something about Jennifer Smith and provide them with contact information, or at least give them something to make tracking her down easier. I can’t wait to see what new will come by contacting these two.

    Also, can’t wait for THE DATE 😀 They are so adorable!

    • Sfe: Ed is certainly hoping they’ll know something too. I’m excited about where all of this is headed. I feel bad because I can’t say anything, but I’ll give too much away if I do. 🙂

      I think the date should be rather interesting…Sean will probably be turning up the charm! 🙂

      Thank you for reading and commenting!

  7. If Nick is jealous, he’s hiding it well, but it would definitely serve him right. I’m wondering whether they should be a little more circumspect about the whole internship thing, just in case someone in that office is to blame for Scott’s disappearance.

    I adore Sean and Ed together! Her shyness is flirtatious, and he is a total doll!

    and LOVE the header shot!

    • SB: I thought he didn’t appear jealous at all in this chapter, though in past chapters he might have come across that way. 🙂 LOL at how it would serve him right–it’s so funny how loyal all of you are to Ed. Should he have just tossed Erica aside the moment he met Ed? 🙂

      That is definitely a good point, and I don’t think they’ll just go barging in and asking questions. I imagine Sean will have some ideas about how to proceed with the mayor’s office.

      I’m really so glad you like Sean and Ed together, and how they flirt and talk to each other. And thank you so much for the comment about my cover! 🙂 As always, thank you very much for reading and commenting!

  8. Aww I loved the Christmas shot!

    Hopefully at least one of the other two people in the photo still keeps in touch with Jennifer – although even if neither of them do, they could probably still help identify the right Jennifer. I wonder if Smith is still her last name.

    Thanks for the update! Can’t wait til the next one. 🙂

    • Juleski: Thank you very much! It was a lot of fun to set up!

      Ed is certainly hopeful that the other two will know something substantial, and that if they don’t they will at least know how to contact Jennifer, or like you say, give them something to help them narrow down the list.

      I’m so glad you liked it, and thank you for continuing to read and comment!

  9. Hey, maybe she went by Jenny instead of Jennifer, and maybe she’s been TAKEN! (Sorry, couldn’t resist!)

    Ed’s frustration with trying to find the right person among so many of the same name really came through. I’m a little worried that she might have given up hope that her brother is still alive, though, because of the way she phrased her thoughts: “She might be the last person he was involved with romantically…” Keep your hopes up, Ed!

    Love the cover shot – the angle, the kiss, and such detail even down to the seasonally colored sweaters!

    Fun flirty scene at the end! I can’t wait to see what type of pjs Ed brings to mess with Sean’s mind. Maybe flannel footed pjs, or maybe a sleep T that says something really sassy on it. She really needs to get his goat again like she did with the dress in France!

    As for Nick, maybe he shouldn’t have thrown over Erica upon meeting Ed. Maybe he likes the high maintenance type. 😉

    • DB: lol at the idea of an Ed Prescott/Taken crossover. 🙂

      She isn’t sure what to believe about her brother’s fate, but I think she really does believe that if he were alive, he would have found a way to contact them or something. She has a hard time believing that he’s still alive and yet remained out of touch for so long. She tries to keep from letting her suspicions show all that much because of her parents, but it’s something that is in the back of her mind, for sure.

      Thank you! I’m glad you like the cover shot. It was probably the easiest I’ve set up thus far, both in the idea and the posing (so easy to get them to just kiss on the couch….hmmm).

      Ed will likely obsess over which PJs to bring, and even I’m not sure what she’ll choose just yet. 🙂 She might even have to consult Kendra for advice…

      LOL at that assessment of Nick. I like everyone’s speculations about what Erica is like…we know so little about her, really. It will be fun to reveal more about their relationship.

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

  10. Great cover shot!
    perfectly flirty scene! But not obviously cotton candied so it seemed more realistic.
    Can’t wait until Nick’s story comes out in the wash! (I know, I use way too many annoying exclamation marks)
    But seriously, I can’t resist a little jealousy or drama (even better with both)……
    Anyway, I finally plucked up some courage to comment, everyone else here is doing some kind of analysis about it,
    so it was sort of daunting. So, I would just like you to know that you’re a writer which you love to read.
    Greatly sagacious in your perceptions and written from a point of view which I think everyone can laugh or smile
    or cry, sometimes all three. I think it’s such a big pot of emotions, from laughing at Ed’s clumsier moments or
    feeling sad with her when she thinks about her brother, and smiling along with her when Sean lands a huge kiss
    on her…
    Should I stop rambling now? Yes, I think that is the answer.

    • GongaGonga: Thank you so much! I love to hear from readers, and I’m so glad you finally said something! Please do not feel pressured to do any analysis, lol. There are stories I absolutely love and I still can’t manage more than a “Great chapter!” Believe me, it’s plenty wonderful to know that people are reading and liking my work. I’m so glad that you did set out some of the things you like–it really helps to tell me the kinds of things my readers pay attention to, and it’s always a relief to find out that they like a lot of the same things I do when it comes to stories. So thank you so much for taking the time to read my story, and to leave a comment. It really means a lot to me!

    • Tipix7: Thank you! I’m glad you like them together, because I’m having a lot of fun setting out their relationship, etc.. 🙂 Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

Leave a comment