Chapter 5. Remembering Scott

THURSDAY, 8:00 P.M.
*

*
“This is one I took of them on a camping trip to…where was it, honey?” my mom asked my dad as she pointed out a blurry photo to Sean.
*
“I think that was the year we went to that wildlife refuge over near Twinbrook.” my dad said.
*
“We couldn’t afford a good camera back then, but we took so many pictures, anyway.  We thought it was a pretty good camera.” my mom said, smiling.
*
*
*


*
She pointed at another picture.  Scott and me on a beach.
*
“This one was the summer, just before he left for his first semester of college.  Florida–one of the beaches on the west coast.” my mom said.
*
*
*


*
“This one is one of my favorites.” my mom said.
*
“This one? Really?” I asked skeptically.
*
“It was just so typical of him.  Such a goofball.  You two were always doing something silly.” my mom said wistfully.
*
I stared at it and realized that she was right.  There was rarely a moment that Scott and I were together that we weren’t trying to make each other laugh.
*
I missed him so much.
*
*
*


*
“Hey, Dad…do you remember the time Scott tried to help me cut the tag out of my shirt, but he ended up cutting my hair instead?” I asked.
*
“Yes.  We stopped keeping the scissors where you two could get to them after that.” my dad said, shaking his head.
*
“That was far from the worst hair incident that ever happened in this family–one time, Scott convinced Eddie to help him bleach his hair….” my mom said, telling Sean about the hair fiasco that resulted in them finding me hovering over Scott’s half-shaved head with a pair of scissors and a disposable razor.  I’d been trying to shave his head after the bleaching went terribly, terribly wrong.
*
*
*


*
“Scott was a fun-loving boy.  There was so little he took seriously.  It was something we argued about, on occasion, but I loved it about him, too.” my dad said.  “I really wonder what he’s like today, you know…if he’s still….”
*
Everyone fell quiet for a moment.
*
“Well, I hope we’ll be able to give you some answers, Mr. Prescott.” Sean said.  “Since we’re starting our research in Chestnut Park, do any of you remember anything about  his academic life that was going on just before he disappeared?”
*
*
*


*
“Um…he decided to major in political science by the end of his first semester, so that wasn’t anything new.  He wanted to go into politics someday–he was on a pre-law track.  He mentioned something about trying out for an internship, but I never heard anything more about it.” my mom said.
*
“Didn’t he say that he’d joined a club?  I can’t remember what club it was.” my dad said.
*
“Was it a fraternity?” Sean asked.
*
“No.  He wasn’t that interested in fraternities, even though I told him that membership in one would probably help if he did actually go into politics.” my dad said.
*
*
*


*
“Did he talk about any professors, or new friends?  A girlfriend?” Sean asked.
*
“I can’t recall anything like that–no new friends or girlfriend.  The one time he ever said anything about a girl was someone named….Avery, I think.  But he broke things off with her almost as soon as he mentioned her name.  They were never serious–Scott never was serious about any girl.” my mom said.
*
“Never?” Sean asked.
*
“He er…liked to play the field.  A lot.” she said, rolling her eyes.  He was the same in high school, and I got so sick of the phone ringing all night with all the girls calling him.  We broke down and bought him a cell phone, it was so bad.”
*
Sean looked over at me, and I knew he was wondering why a ladies’ man like my brother would have an engagement ring.  I had no answer.
*
*
*


*
We were taking the box of files my parents had collected from Scott’s apartment with us this weekend, and we already knew some details that would prove helpful–his schedule, his grades from his first semester in college.  From his bank statements we could compile a list of the places he regularly visited.
*
After dessert (Mom had insisted that Sean come over for dinner since he was coming over to ask questions anyway), Sean stood by the entryway, looking at some of our family photos.
*
“How old were you when were these taken?” he asked.
*
“Fifteen.  Wait…sixteen, I think.” I said.
*
“What a cutie.” he said, winking at me.
*
“Scott hated these pictures–Mom made him brush his hair out of his eyes and he thought he looked like a dork.  He kinda did.” I said, then laughed.  Mom had brought all the pictures out of her bedroom into the living area, and she’d decided to keep the family pictures out, so they were up on the wall.  Usually she stored them away so people wouldn’t ask about Scott.
*
*
*


*
“I should probably go home soon.  I need to look over those files and get stuff in order for our other task.” he said.  He still hadn’t told me about the mysterious second thing we’d be doing while we were making inquiries in Chestnut Park.  Every time I asked, he told me he’d give me the full story on Friday, in the car.
*
“Yeah, I need to pack.” I said.
*
“I thought before I left that maybe I’d take a walk out on the beach, though.  You want to come along?” he asked.
*
*
*


*
My parents had crept up behind him, and when they heard his question, they were both nodding their heads in encouragement.
*
“Uh…” I began, but I was interrupted.
*
“What a lovely idea!  Of course she’ll go!” my mother said, practically pushing me out the door.  Apparently, I couldn’t be trusted with my own love life.
*
*
*


*
We walked across the street in silence, not talking until we reached the beach.
*
“I’m sorry that I had to ask those questions–I know it can’t be easy to think about him.” Sean said.
*
“Actually, it was kinda nice remembering so much about him.  The good and the bad.”  I said.  Sharing him, I thought.
*
“Well, I’m glad about that at least.”  Sean said.
*
*
*


*
“I’m sorry about my mother.  She is worried about the status of my love life.” I said apologetically.
*
Sean laughed softly.  “She’s not the only one.  Nick’s little visit yesterday wasn’t just about training–he wanted to quiz me about my intentions with regard to you.”
*
*
*


*
“Oh?” I said.  I shouldn’t have been surprised that Nick had picked up on something.  “What did you tell him?” I asked in as nonchalant a tone as I could muster.  I was actually looking forward to hearing this, since I didn’t know the answer myself.
*
“I told him it was none of his damn business.” Sean said.
*
“But what would you have said, you know…if it were his business?” I asked.  It was definitely my business, right?
*
*
*


*
He slowly came to a stop as my question registered, and he turned to face me.  He waited until I looked up and met his eyes.
*
“I don’t just want sex.” he said.
*
“Wow, that’s…..blunt.” I said.  My cheeks were burning and I couldn’t maintain eye contact anymore.
*
“That’s what you wanted to know, right?” he said.
*
“Well, yeah.” I admitted. “I have to…adjust my expectations.”
*
*
*


*
“What did you think I wanted?” he asked.
*
“I honestly didn’t know.” I said.  Sometimes it seemed like he just wanted to jump my bones….and other times like he wanted to be my friend.
*
We were quiet for a while before he said, “Look, I care about you.  A lot.  I want to know things about you that can’t be discovered in a background check.  So here’s my first question: what do you want from me?”
*
*
*


*
“I….I’m not sure.” I stammered.  Then I thought of something.  “Maybe patience.  I’m not sure I can give you all that you want.  But I want to try.”
*
“I can be patient.  Maybe.” he said, smiling.  We stared at each other for several beats, and I knew that he wanted to kiss me.  But he was holding back, waiting.
*
My first test.  I’d have to make this move, if I wanted it.
*
*
*


*
I wanted it.  He made a quiet sound of surprise, but he didn’t deepen the kiss or  pull me to him.  Patience.
*
“I’ll uh….walk you back.” he said, and his voice was deep with whatever I’d done to him when we’d kissed.
*
“Thanks.” I said, my voice a little deeper too.  I laced my fingers through his and we walked back to my parents’ house.

42 thoughts on “Chapter 5. Remembering Scott

  1. I really hope this doesn’t make you upset, because I know when people compliment me on a specific chapter I get all neurotic about the other chapters. So I just want to say that all of your previous work is really really really good and I am in no way disparaging it and it’s awesome.

    So, with that said – this chapter is absolutely wonderful!

    Perfect writing, strong powerful emotions, beautiful pictures – it’s everything that a Sims story should be.

    *hugs* You did good, girl. 🙂

    • Medleymisty: lol! I don’t mind in the least–I hope I’m getting better with time, so it wouldn’t surprise me if my later chapters are better than my earlier ones. Plus, sometimes people just have favorites that have little to do with the technical aspects. The subject matter spoke to them, or a particular picture or pose was compelling. So thank you, very, very much for this.

      The second part of the chapter (on the beach) came to me well before the first. I couldn’t get this conversation they were having out of my head. And I was a little peeved about it, too, because it threatened to derail the things that I wanted to happen after it–how could it work? I nearly scrapped the conversation, even though when I was writing it, it just felt so right for them. I kept thinking about what was to come, and I realized that this had to happen here, and that it didn’t really compromise the things that were to come–in fact, it might make them better. So it was a very strange experience for me, but I’m so glad it rang true!

      • LunarFox: lol! I’m trying…but I’m afraid my gut isn’t quite as stylish as yours. It really did freak me out a bit to jumble things up….but like I said, I couldn’t get that conversation out of my head, and it felt like it had to happen now.

      • I’m aware I’m intruding in a really old conversation *blushes*, but what Medleymisty told you and what you answered back just hit home to me -especially that of stressing over old chapters and people’s comments LOL.

        Well, that said, I absolutely loved this chapter. The pacing was perfect, and it was full of very intense, very deep (and true-to-life) feelings. It was very interesting to finally put a face to Scott’s name, and that walk by the beach with Sean… awww! ❤

        Oh, and by the way, I'm reading this story via 'Valley of the Sun', I thought I let you know ;). Well, actually I stumbled upon your blog some while ago and had it bookmarked, so I know I would have read it eventually, but still…

      • Marsar: I view this story as a journey in writing–I can look back on it and know that I didn’t get everything right, and that’s fine with me. I still enjoyed writing it at the time, and I don’t mind the journey it took to learn more about the characters. I’m never going to believe that I’m a perfect writer, so I’ll just hope that I keep improving and I will keep trying. I’ll do it as long as I love it, and I still love it. 🙂

        I’m so glad you enjoyed the chapter! I discovered a lot of awesome authors through the ‘Valley of the Sun’ story links–Medleymisty was always very encouraging for other story bloggers. Thank you for taking a chance on my story!

      • Oh, what you say make perfect sense. I’m still learning to do just that. Thanks so much for taking the time to give me such an insightful answer, I really appreciate it :D.

  2. I love Ed’s mom, lol. Go mom go!

    Likewise, go Ed go! It’s wonderful to see her taking charge in her life here. Even asking for what she actually needs, that’s a big step. And Sean giving her exactly what she asked for.

    Her brother– aww. The picture of them making faces at each other is so cute. All of the pictures were a lovely touch. Especially the family pictures that look like they were done in a studio.

    • LunarFox: Judith is a force to be reckoned with–she wants Ed to have a full life, and while she’s at it to maybe make some grandbabies….she wouldn’t mind some little black-haired, blue-eyed grandbabies. 😉

      Ed is making some great strides. She has a goal: stop freaking out her friends and family with her lack of a regular life. She’s also discovering that she really does want these things for herself–not just because her friends and family think it’s what she needs. She can’t just change, though….she has to work on it, and it might take some time. Even with the assurance that Sean isn’t just looking for a quick fling, it’s scary territory. Sean is willing to be patient–to a certain degree.

      It was time to reveal Scott…but not to reveal him head-on. Does that make sense? It’s not like we have many pictures of our loved ones that serve the same function as a mug-shot. So many of the pictures we take of our family and friends wouldn’t do much to help identify them, but they still tell us a lot about them.

      Setting up the portrait studio pics was both fun and a little frustrating. But a family like theirs would definitely have them–so it was off to make the pics. Since I haven’t concentrated on making any of them particularly skilled with the camera, however, they’re a little wavy, lol. I took some of them myself, and I might put up extras sometime. One of the poses was kinda hilarious…. 🙂

  3. Yay!! They’re so cute…

    now, on a more serious note, I was really excited to finally see Scott! He’s really cute and I love how playful he and Ed are, it reminds me of me and my brother (who, coincidentally, is named Scott!). Even though this was kind of our first insight into who Scott was, it makes me even more curious to discover what happened to him, why he disappeared. But I know that we won’t find that out for a long time, so I guess I will have to make do with the dramatic plot ideas in my head, lol.

    • Laurenbeth: Yep, we finally get to put a face to Scott’s name–it was time. I was really happy with the way he turned out–a nice blend of his parents. He has a lot of his mother in him, really. He and Ed were very close, and we should be hearing more about their relationship as this series goes on. We may not find out the whole story of what happened to him for a while, but we’ll definitely be finding out pieces of it all along, and we’ll also be seeing more about what his life was like before he disappeared. We’ll find out some crucial things in this story, especially. I’m so glad that you liked finding out more about him. 🙂

  4. I very much enjoyed this chapter. I also liked the plot balance with the overarching Scott story-arc, the set up for Ed and Sean’s trips, and with Ed and Sean’s burgeoning romance.

    Did you already have younger versions of the family members, or did you have to recreate and clone everyone for the screenshots?

    Ed’s mom made me laugh! Ed and Sean’s romantic interactions were so sweet and sigh-worthy, as usual. I think Sean should have kissed her back though. 😛

    • Tesseracta: I’m really glad that you think it was balanced well–sometimes I worry that I’m too heavy-handed on one thing or another.

      When I made Scott, I made sure to make different-age clones of him. I wasn’t as lucky with the other family members, however (I completely forgot to save them to the Sim bin), and the fact that I needed to clone them at different ages was a big factor in my choice to download Twallan’s Supercomputer.

      Judith Prescott can be very pushy sometimes! I’m really glad that their romantic interactions were able to tease a sigh out of you. 😉 Not to worry–Sean is simply biding his time right now….he’s not one to refrain for too long.

  5. I loved this chapter!! From the very first blurry, slightly yellowed photo I could identify with this family, feel that they were real, a family not unlike my own … that’s how the photos from my childhood look as well. I also have bad haircut stories, goofing around with my brothers stories, injury from goofing around with my brothers stories.

    Although my mum is far from as cool as Judith *lol*

    So it was Nick who set up the sparring threesome so that he could check out Sean and his intentions *lol* that puts a whole different spin on things. I thought perhaps he might have done so earlier, but maybe he could only see one side of it until Ed started putting herself out there and taking risks, then realised this could be a mutual thing and therefore he should do something about it?

    The conversation between Sean and Ed was just perfect, exactly as awkward and revealing as I would expect from these two. “I want to know things about you that can’t be discovered in a background check.” That is just such an oddly romantic thing to say. *sigh*

    • Illandrya: Thank you so much! I’d hoped the little imperfections in the pictures would convey a “family camera” feel. I remember the pictures my parents had of me when I was little, and they’re usually slightly blurry and have different casts to them–some yellow-ish, others reddish. I’m really, really happy that this family seems realistic and that you can identify with them.

      LOL…I don’t know if Judith would have been such a cool mother when Ed was a teen…but now that she’s moving into her late twenties, she’s getting a bit impatient to see her have real relationships.

      I think you are exactly right–Nick could tell that something had changed Sean and Ed after they got back from France. Before, he probably liked to tease Sean about his crush on Ed, but once he thought her feelings might be involved too he got a little worried. He knew it might step up from something more than casual flirting, and I think that bothered him. At the same time, I can see him being a bit baffled with regard to what he should do about it–it’s never been an issue before.

      Awkward and revealing is definitely what I was going for, so I’m thrilled it came across that way! One of Ed’s concerns when it comes to a relationship with Sean has always been that she wasn’t sure what he wanted, exactly. Now she knows, and I’m not sure it is going to provide the comfort she thought it would….it may be harder for her to accept a full relationship with Sean than it would have been had he said he just wanted a “friends with benefits” type of thing (though I think she would have been sorely disappointed had he said something like that).

      LOL….I never thought of it as a romantic statement, but now that you mention it, it kinda is. It’s romantic for Sean, at least. He’s so used to having a lot of access to really personal things about people because of his job, but that type of information isn’t what really interests him about Ed. I’m so glad you liked it! 🙂

  6. I can sum up this chapter in one word: FABULOUS! Granted, they’re all fabulous, but seriously. You have created the PERFECT chapter!

    I love the family photos and a chance to see Ed in a slightly different and more jovial light. Scott reminds me of an old friend of mine. I don’t have any siblings; he was the closet thing I had to a brother growing up. I hope they turn up something in the search! (side note: my mind has been going over lots of things from previous entries…is it possible that Scott witnessed something horrible and had to go into witness protection? I don’t think he’s dead, but that’s what’s been playing around in my head. Back to the topic now… 🙂 )

    The beach conversation was exactly what Ed needed. Sean’s blunt honesty is endearing. I love this quote, “I want to know things about you that can’t be discovered in a background check. So here’s my first question: what do you want from me?” It is a rather romantic line with a very interesting question attached. I’m glad she was able to come up with an answer besides “I don’t know”! And…they kissed…. :::sigh::: 😀

    Imagine… Nick setting up the sparring opportunity just quiz Sean about his intentions towards Ed! I didn’t know he would be that sneaky (although I shouldn’t be surprised…he is a detective afterall). 🙂 Aside from the interoffice relationship that could occur and have potentially devastating consequences, why would Nick care? Hmmm…anyway…

    Once again EXCELLENT chapter! I can’t wait to find out more! 🙂

    • Jules: Thank you so much! I’m very happy that you liked it. 🙂

      Ed and Scott were very close, and these photos are meant to reinforce that. I’m glad that Scott’s behavior does indeed come across as brotherly. I didn’t have any siblings either, so I’m only going by experiences from family and friends when I try to flesh out their relationship. 🙂 With regard to your speculations…I really can’t say anything. 😉

      I think Ed needed that conversation as well. Sean isn’t really one to mince words, usually. Every now and then he does when he can tell it would make Ed uncomfortable, but he’s wondering if this has been her hang-up all along–so he didn’t bother censoring his own response.

      It’s so funny because when I wrote the line, I didn’t think of it as romantic…but you’re the second person to comment on that. 🙂 I guess Sean is more romantic than I thought….

      Nick certainly isn’t above fabricating a reason to be somewhere in order to get information. And after he got his information, he thought he’d just stick around…..

      Why would Nick care? Well….that is certainly an interesting question. 😉

      I’m so glad you liked this chapter. 🙂

  7. YAY!!! At last we have arrived to La Sean and Edith’s love adventure! (That was really lame. Excuse me.) =]

    The third picture from the bottom, it’s a good one. I was considering making it my screen saver, but then I remembered Sean is a sim, a fictional character, and I felt lame. So I didn’t. But I wanted to! lol

    Great chapter. Very intriguing. I wish I could craw inside your head and get a glimpse of where you are taking this. I love the way you created Scott to be. It was neat to get a glimpse of how Ed used to be before everything happened. I feel she was probably much more care-free.

    I want to start a story or legacy very bad. But I am just so busy and I haven’t yet completed one that I have started. (Which by the way you can take the Rules of Survival out of your reading list if you want. I have long lost the characters and everything from that story.) But I tried the ABC baby challenge. Where you have 24 babies with one sim and name them from each letter of the alphebet, but I quit on baby 11. So I think I wont post a story until I get all the way done, just taking pictures as I go along, that way I know I will actually finish and not leave readers hanging, then I will post periodically.

    Sorry about the long comment. You probably didn’t need to know all that. haha

    • Amyjobee: lol! I’m glad you approve of the direction things are going so far…and it’s so funny that you had to remind yourself that Sean is a fictional character. 🙂

      Scott was definitely the wild one of the Prescott bunch….and having such a brother brought Ed out of her shell a bit.

      In truth, I’m continually surprised with my ability to keep updating, etc.. So many of my projects ended shortly after they began, so it really means a lot to me that I’ve been sustaining this one for so long. I am more interested in it than ever, and I think about this story all the time. It’s really hard to get it out of my head. I hope it stays that way for a while! But you’ll find something that will keep your interest–it just might take a while to get it going. But don’t stop trying! It’s really a very rewarding experience!

  8. I love Ed’s mother! “Of course she’ll go!” Wow…I get the impression that Ed’s mum would have been totally mortifying during the teenage years. She sort of reminds me of my best friend’s mother.

    So Nick wants to know Sean’s intentions with Ed. Well, well, well. Has it been established that Nick has (or is developing) a thing for Ed or have we all just been speculating? Or maybe that’s way off base and Nick’s reasons are nothing to do with jealousy. Hmmm.

    Go Ed! The conversation on the beach was perfect. It’s good that Sean is so up front with her. She’s got no reason to fret about what he wants from her any more. And I’m glad she kissed him too.

    • Carla: I don’t think Ed’s mom was quite as pushy when Ed was a teen….but as the years go by and Ed doesn’t have any romantic relationships, she gets more and more worried. I’m sure she still managed to mortify Ed and Scott enough without the extra bit of pushiness she’s developed…. 😉

      It hasn’t been established that Nick has a thing for Ed….Ed certainly would never suspect that. I’m certain that Nick couched his concern in terms of professionalism and preserving a good working environment, etc., but that doesn’t necessarily mean that he didn’t have other reasons for his curiosity.

      Yep–Sean’s forthright approach means that she can’t misinterpret anything–she has one less reason to avoid a romantic entanglement with him. Now her only problem is herself, and she’s working on that, too. I’m so glad you liked it!

  9. So awesome to get to see more of her brother! Even though I’m loving the beach-walk I sorta liked the stories about her brother more lol. He seems to be such a goof! I wish I had a brother like that 😀

    • Jcnorn: Yes, we didn’t have nearly enough information about Scott (and we still don’t, really). We’ll be learning more about him as we go…he was definitely a goof. 🙂 I’m glad you liked it!

  10. I enjoed this chapter so much, it was so nice to see Scott and read abot everyones memories of him. He looked like a truly lovely and fun guy: I hope they find him one day.
    I am glad that Ed is finding slowly her feet in her love life also.

    • Speechless: Thank you–I’m very happy that you liked it. I can’t recall seeing your username on a comment before, so I will also say thank you for deciding to comment! I love hearing from readers. At the very least, they’ll find out more about Scott along the way–particularly what was going on in his life just before he disappeared. It won’t all be in this story, though. Ed is actually starting to have a love life, which freaks her out of course–but it is also rather exhilarating too! 🙂

  11. so glad you updated! i love reading this blog. it was a nice touch the way you had ed’s mother – i forgot her name – look like she had dressed up a bit for sean coming over. also, very interested to see where you’re taking this blog in terms of romantic relationships and whether you’ll have the search for scott ongoing and continuous, or sort it out all at once and keep writing. the one thing i would squee to see is if ed grew out her hair :} keep writing please xxx

    • Rroser: lol….I won’t deny that Judith may have taken a bit more care with her appearance. 😉

      The search for Scott, much like the romantic relationships, will be continuous–it will be rare for anything to be completely resolved in one story with those two big arcs. Same with Nick’s efforts to bring down Hector Dorantes. I have a few larger series-wide arcs going, but there are little cases that come up each time that are resolved in the space of each story.

      I will definitely keep writing–I can’t get these stories out of my head! As for Ed’s hair, I can make no promises. 😉 Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

  12. Wow, great chapter, seeing Scott for the first time (right? :P) was facinating, just in this chpater we learn so much more about his character than we knew before, and for some reason, I ADORE that photo of Ed and Scott on the beach, perhaps because it shows Ed in the past, before everything went haywire? I’m also loving the beach scene, cute or what?! This is a wonderful chapter, thank you!

    • Abby: Thanks! Yes, this is the first time we actually get to see Scott, and we hear something about his personality. I think the pic of Ed and Scott on the beach does seem strange for that reason–Ed isn’t quite as carefree. It’s difficult to imagine her relaxing like that. I’m really glad you liked the scene with Sean and Ed on the beach, too. 🙂

  13. Scott is a real sim! Scott lives, at least in the sim bin! That makes me happy. Not that I doubted his existence, but seeing evidence of his actual pixels just made me happy. NICE and very authentic looking family snapshots. Makes me think of old Polaroids that fade to russety colors. Great stuff!

    Now, I will join Kendra, Belinda, Judith, and even Dr. Garrison in doing the wave for the kiss! Ed passed her test! And for the time being, Sean passed his… LOVED the walk on the beach. In her familiar territory with recent reminders of old carefree days, she was able to be bold and ask what she wanted to know and act on what she wanted. Yay for Ed!

    Hey, Kendra isn’t dating Dr. Garrison, is she? That would be weird.

    • DB: lol! Yes, Scott is a real Sim…not just a product of Ed’s imagination. 🙂 When I think of family pictures (particularly the candids) I think of old Polaroids, too, so I am so happy they have that quality…thank you!

      That’s an interesting thing I never quite considered–Ed would probably feel more comfortable having a talk like that because she was reminded of the way she used to be. Thank you for that insight into her ability to actually have this conversation! 🙂

      LOL, Kendra is definitely not dating Dr. Garrison. He is a happily married man. 🙂

    • Mau99: Yep, Ed is trying to be more forthright and direct, which will allow Sean to get to know her. Nick is starting to wonder a bit about their relationship, but at the same time he isn’t sure what, if anything, he can or should do about it. 🙂

  14. Apart from Ed, that trip down memory lane had to be painful for her parents, but it was wonderful for the rest of us.

    Ed is very forthright! I love her relationship with Sean. Patience is the most wonderful gift, and the most difficult one to give.

    completely in love with this!!

    • S.B.: It was definitely painful for her parents….they don’t know if their son is alive or dead…and even if he’s alive, they have to wonder if they’ll really know him anymore. People can change so much, especially in early adulthood. They know that if he is still alive, whatever made him disappear for so long had to change him somehow.

      Ed can certainly be forthright. She is trying to be honest with Sean–she wants him to have his eyes wide open, and she wouldn’t blame him at all if he decided she was more trouble than she’s worth. She half expects him to run out of patience, but she does want to try.

      I’m so honored you even read this…thank you!

  15. I love your story! I check all the time for a new update and when there is one I am crossing my fingers that these two get busy! The kisses are always so fresh and new and they make my heart go pitter patter =) Keep up the good work

    • Icrawbeans: Thank you very much! I’m so glad that you are moved by their romance–it’s a wonderful thing to hear. 🙂 I’ll do my best to keep it fresh!

  16. Scott! Actual Scott!

    I love the photos, and I love Ed’s parents. I really liked this chapter, and the way they shared such intimate memories with Sean. I love the mysteries but they wouldn’t work nearly as well without the wonderful range of characters you surround Ed with. Love it.

    • Rad: Yes! Finally Scott.

      I’m glad that you liked it, and that you feel the other characters really bring something to the mysteries. 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a comment