Chapter 20. Rescue

*

Something was off about the castle’s attic.

*

I had managed to make it all the way up to the top floor without bumping into Gravois or his friend with the boulder-sized fists.  I was impressed with myself.  It seemed like quite a feat—and I’d done it in heels.

*

But as I gazed around at the dusty junk haphazardly stored in this space, I couldn’t shake the feeling that something wasn’t quite right.

*

*

*

*

I was thankful for the windows that were set into the small recessed areas, because the moonlight filtered in and made it possible for me to see without needing a light.  As I walked closer to one end of the room, I realized what was off.

*

The room was much too small.  Sean and I had practically memorized the blueprints for the place, and now it was apparent that someone had added a wall to the end of the room in which I was standing.  The space that should have been there would have been the perfect size for a small room.

*

*

*

*

I carefully felt around the wall, looking for a hidden catch or a seam or something.  I didn’t want to pound on it to see if the space behind it was hollow because someone downstairs was sure to hear.

*

*

*

*

I worked quietly, but felt my frustration mounting as the minutes ticked on and I couldn’t find anything.  I strained to hear every sound—if someone decided to approach, I wanted to have enough time to hide behind one of the piles of junk.

*

My search grew more and more frantic and finally my fingers found a seam—the textured paint had hidden it well.  The excitement I felt was accompanied by some much-needed adrenaline as I started to push.

*

*

*

*

When I saw Sean, I first felt relief–but almost immediately after, I felt sick.  He stared at me in surprise, and it looked like I had interrupted him in the midst of trying to free Monique from the ropes that tied her to one of the chairs.

*

His eye was black, and I was horrified by the bruising around his neck.

*

*

*

*

“Dammit!” Sean cursed under his breath, and crossed to meet me halfway.  He pulled me into a hard hug and then set me away from him by the shoulders and shook me a little.  “Get out of here now!”

*

“Easy…..” I said in what I hoped was a calm and soothing voice.  “I look like I belong here—no one has noticed me.  Is she coming with you?” I asked, trying to be all business.  I stifled the urge to check his injuries, because there simply wasn’t time.

*

*

*

*

My business-like tone seemed to work and he backed up, looking resigned.

*

“Yeah—at least to get out of the castle.  After that, she’s going to ground with some friends in a nearby town.”  Sean responded.

*

“Then get her free and get out.” I said, turning to leave.

*

“I will—after I get the vase.” Sean said firmly.

*

“Don’t worry about the vase–I’ve got it covered.” I said.

*

*

*

*
What?”  Sean hissed.

*

“I’ll explain later—trust me.” I said.  I wasn’t about to tell him what I’d done with Monique right behind him.  I wondered how the maid was doing with the task I’d given her.  I was about to find out.

*

“You’ve gotta give me more than that.” Sean said, and he was looking at me as if I’d sprouted antlers or something.

*

*

*

*

“Let’s just say I have a friend working on it.” I said, then licked my lips nervously.

*

“We are so going to have a serious talk about chain of command and orders and—“ Sean began.

*

“Don’t worry your pretty little head about it.  Now move.  I have a vase to pick up.” I snapped, and walked away as quickly and quietly as I could.  I made my way back down the stairs and to the kitchen.

*

Please…come through for me…. I thought as I walked through the dining room.

*

*

*

*

She had come through.

*

I looked around to ascertain that there were no servants lurking about.  If Sean could get out without being seen, then everything would be fine.

*

*

*

*

I didn’t bother to hide my triumphant smile as I left the castle to take out a bag of trash.  If anyone would have seen me, they would have wondered why a maid seemed so delighted with such a menial and unpleasant task.

*

*

*

*

The answer was fairly simple: I was taking something out of the castle, for sure—but it certainly wasn’t trash.

*

*

*

<– Previous chapter

Next chapter –>


46 thoughts on “Chapter 20. Rescue

  1. Pingback: Chapter 19. The Hired Help « Rachel's Sims Stories

  2. OOOOOOH, I love it! You are a such a smart cookie, Rachel. Congratulations!

    It reads beautifully and the pictures are stunning. Those bruises… wow, I take my hat off to you.

    I love the pic where Sean holds her by the shoulders to make sure she is alright. I LOVE the fact that she has got the vase covered!!! And I can’t wait to hear why that loathsome Monique is in ropes…

    Brilliant!

    • Moondaisy: Aww, thank you very much….I’m glad you approve of the solution to the problematic mission! 🙂

      I was very worried about those bruises, since I was putting those in by hand–it’s really difficult to keep such things consistent, so I’m really happy you think they look okay…

      I loved that pic too…I couldn’t leave it out, even though I wasn’t sure it would go as well with the story. He’s not happy to see her there, but he’s relieved that she seems to be fine at that point in time. Ed knew that Sean would try to get the vase even if he’d been hurt, and she wants him out of that castle–so she had to come up with a way to take care of it for him.

      I’m so glad you liked it! 🙂 Thank you so much for your comments!

  3. Oh wow – I was about to ask where to download the bruises. Great photo editing!

    Oooh, I like the angst and stuff in the huggy bit. 🙂

    And very clever with the cover and the trash and all.

    Yay this was awesome!

    • Medleymisty: Thank you very much! There is a black eye download somewhere…I can’t remember where (I noticed it one day when I wasn’t looking for it) but it seemed too dark for my purposes.

      There’s definitely some angst going on in that hug, so I’m glad that came out. 🙂

      I’m glad you liked it!

  4. Wow, great stuff, and well done Ed! I loved the secret door thing – did you set that up or was there one in the house you were using?

    • Rad: I’m glad you think Ed did a good job here. 🙂 It’s funny–there was a secret door in that house, but it was to a hallway on the first floor. I wanted it in a different place, so I put one upstairs.

  5. Excellent! Ed is triumphant, but I had a feeling she would be! She’s got good instincts.

    But oh, they did a real number on Sean, didn’t they? Ed got him out of there just in time. Definitely sensing just the teensiest bit of tension in that hug – just in the way he pushed her back so quickly.

    I can’t believe you painted in those bruises! They look tremendous – well done!

    • Carla: Ed does have good instincts, and a fair amount of luck, too….

      Sean did take some punches, that’s for sure–poor guy. We’ll find out more about what happened to him in the next chapter.

      Thank you! I try to limit the doctoring of the pics to mostly lightening up dark shots, etc., but occasionally I’ll put stuff in. I’m glad you think the bruises look good! I wasn’t sure how well they would turn out, or even how consistent I could keep them…

  6. Sean has seen better days that’s for sure.

    So it looks like Monique didn’t betray him after all but … I’m still rather wary on that front. I am curious as to what she thinks of the scene between Sean and Eddy. They certainly didn’t behave like Boss and Employee.

    So far, everything does seem like it’s going the way it’s supposed to but … Sean still has to get out with Monique and assuming the maid has a bit of a backbone about what she’s just done.

    Shall be interesting to see what happens next!

    • Carnaxa: It’s probably a good thing to remain wary of Monique, because she’s certainly not trustworthy in general. Sean probably didn’t care in the least about what they looked like–Ed knew part of her cover would be blown if she came in for the rescue and was recognized, because no haughty and snobby employer would come get her employee herself…

      In the next chapter we’ll see whether Sean and Monique got out–thank you for commenting! 🙂

  7. Men always react like that when a woman saves them.

    I’ve been lurking for a long time now and I love Ed!
    Great stuff and well done on editing the bruises!

    • Hushfirefly: Thanks for reading and commenting! I love hearing from readers and I’m so glad you felt comfortable enough to comment!

      Men often do react that way–Sean especially would in this case, and it is a little difficult to blame him. After all, Ed is still very inexperienced, and going by his bruises, Gravois’s bodyguard is a nasty piece of work. The last thing he wants is for Ed to get hurt.

      I’m so relieved that everyone thinks the bruises came out okay…..that was the part that had me concerned the most for this chapter. 🙂

  8. Haha! I love it! Ed is so smart! I love how she has very nicely handled both situations and completed both of her goals in her sweet, kind, calm manner! 🙂

    Great job with the photos! My favorite photos are the ones where Ed is inspecting the wall, and of course, the one where Sean hugs Ed fiercely. 🙂

    Excellent update! I can’t wait to hear Sean tell what happened!

    • Jules: Ed wanted to use the maid from the beginning, so she must have had part of a plan in the back of her mind….but she certainly didn’t have a rescue mission lodged in there!

      I’d never zoomed in on someone inspecting a wall before, so I was delighted with the new facial expression! I think the hug picture is the result of Sean and Ed coming out of some sort of romantic interaction–probably an amorous hug (there are lots of good poses embedded in that one, for an intimate conversation, etc.).

      I’m so glad you liked it–thank you for your comments! 🙂

  9. FANTASTIC! I’m sure things will get a little more complicated, though. Yikes. I’m scared for poor Ed but we got the vase so let’s move!

  10. OMG! I loved this whole chapter, especially the pictures that show the maid getting the vase. And I love the tie into chapter 17 where Ed mentions the maid as a possibility and Sean basically ignores it.

    And that hard hug– mmmhmm! I particularly loved that. He gives her a little shake, clearly worried for her, but she’s got everything under control.

    • LunarFox: Yay! I’m so glad you liked it!

      I wasn’t sure how to present the pictures of the maid getting the vase….I was torn between having them play when she recounted to Sean how she got the vase out, etc…finally I decided to just do it this way…

      Sean’s running on pure instinct at that moment in time, so while he’s definitely worried about Ed’s safety, he is also just so happy to see her safe and sound–hence the hug. I think he’s definitely torn here–so flippin’ proud that she figured out a clever way inside, but also terrified that she’s going to get some bruises of her own if she’s caught.

  11. Very well done!! LOVED IT! Sean is so cute, and their reaction towards each other when they first saw each other was very realistic. Him hugging her and wanting her to get out, her wanting to check his wounds, only stopping worrying about each other once she starts talking business again. Very good! I was impressed. Not that I’m not every other time. =] I was disappointed though. When I saw that picture of Sean embracing her and hadn’t read below it yet I got my hopes up that he finally kissed her. lol (That would have been a bit over board and unrealistic yet. So I am glad for the story you didn’t do it, but still…. It would’ve made me all giddy!) haha.

    • Amyjobee: Thank you! I’m glad that their reactions seemed realistic. I was just playing around with interactions in that room and when I saw that picture I couldn’t resist putting it in…. 🙂

      I can’t have him kiss her! Gotta keep building the excitement… 😉

      • Aww…but why not just a little peck on the cheek for her to mull over for a bit? 😉

      • Jules: Do you think Sean is a peck on the cheek kinda guy? 😉

      • Haha…no…BUT he has handled her with kid gloves in the area of romance and I wouldn’t put it past him in a serious moment to peck her on the cheek and walk out of the room at the end of a conversation 🙂

        However, that’s just my little romantic notions! I can’t wait for him to really kiss her! That’s an update I’m sure I’ll read repeatedly! 🙂

      • Jules: Well–if and when he kisses her, I’ll try to make it good. 🙂

    • StarSarah: Yep, yep, they have the vase, but Sean took a bit of a beating. He’s a tough guy though…..with a little TLC he should be fine. 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting!

    • Tipix7: I think Sean will be able to get out–especially since now he has to worry about whether Ed will get out. 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

  12. I really hope that Sean gets out safely…mostly because I really want him to get his chocolate. *sigh and swoon*

    • Maireaine: lol! That’s one of the most amazing lines I’ve heard in a while! I love it! Thank you for reading and commenting!

      I hope he gets his chocolate too. 😉

  13. Pingback: Chapter 21. Cover-Up « Rachel's Sims Stories

  14. Ohhhh, good thinking Ed! What a devious little thief she has turned into. I loved the little interaction between her and Sean when she got through the secret door – “I love you but I’m p#&$ed off at you”. Now, of course, they still have to get the vase out of the country without bringing the wrath of Gravois down on their heads.

    • Illandrya: Ed is getting better and better all the time with the strategy of such heists. Sean is both happy and worried to see Ed, so his reaction is understandable. Seeing her means that she’s safe, for now, but it also means she’s crept into the lion’s den.

      They do still need to get the vase out of the country, but the hardest part is definitely over. 🙂

    • Mikayla: Thank you! I’m glad you like it…keeping the bruises consistent was a real challenge (and one I’m not sure I achieved).

  15. *exhales* Man, that was tense! You’ve got a great knack for suspense here!

    Awww, Sean! 😦

    Oh, but that hug was nice! 🙂

    But that maid trick was clever! Ed is a quick thinker! I’m glad the maid was a nice girl and wanted to help out. And LOL, I love that she got the vase out in a trash bag! Too funny! 🙂

    • Laura: Thanks! Suspense is something I don’t break out all that often, so I’m glad that when I do it is effective!

      Sean is pretty beat up, but it’s not the first time for him. He’s nowhere near as traumatized about it as Ed, lol. He was so relieved to see her there, safe.

      Ed is definitely a quick thinker, though remember that she wanted to use the maid to help them instead of going through Monique. While she certainly didn’t have a fully-formed plan in her head, she may have had the beginnings of one going already, but pushed them out when Sean negated her idea. In this particular case, one man’s trash literally is another man’s treasure! 🙂

  16. Aand now I’m imagining someone actually seeing – to their endless confusion – Ed skipping happily out of the castle with the trash bag. 😀 I really liked these last few chapters. A good sneaky thiefy sequence always warms me.

  17. Oh Ed’s face taking out the trash is priceless. Great chapter. She really is quick on her feet and she’s getting better. Sean should give her more credit. If it wasn’t for Ed, they wouldn’t have gotten out.

    • Livinasimminlife: I think Sean would give her more credit, but he’s concerned it would make her take even more risks. He knows that she is a novice in the field, and he feels responsible for her–so when she had to put herself in danger to get him out, he likely felt really guilty. Thank you for reading and commenting!

      • I can understand his need to protect her and why he feels responsible for her. It’s nice. Plus it should keep Ed from getting herself into too much trouble.

Leave a comment