Chapter 12. Feminine Wiles

*

“So these are the only vases your procurer brought in?” Sean asked Andre.

*

We were in a room that was at the back of Alexis’s Relics, used for storing extra inventory or things he claimed to reserve for “his very special customers”.  He’d called us in the afternoon to say that he had more vases that had just arrived.

*

“Yes…if I had more, I would show them to you, of course.  Are none of these of the appropriate style?” Andre asked.

*

*

*

*

“Miss Fisher has very particular wishes regarding the style and time period of the vase.  Unfortunately, though these are very close to the style she prefers, none of them are the exact style she collects.” Sean said.

*

I was disappointed—I had really hoped that Monique had dropped off Wolff’s vase as part of this inventory, but I’d scanned the new merchandise over and over again and it wasn’t here.

*

“I am sorry to hear that.  She cannot be interested in one of these, then?” Andre pressed, obviously getting a little irritated by my demanding tastes.

*

*

*

*

“No, she can’t.” I said in a terse tone that was intended to remind him that I was the rich customer and he was supposed to make me happy.

*

“We can stay here a few days more—do you think your procurer could bring in more inventory before, say, next week?” Sean asked.  His pleasant voice was in stark contrast to my own snippy words.

*

“I will have to check.” Andre said.  Suddenly, his cell phone started ringing.  “Excuse me, please, while I take this call.” he requested, gesturing for us to wait in the front room of the store.

*

*

*

*

As soon as we heard the low drone of Andre’s voice from the back room as he spoke on the phone, I turned to Sean.

*

“Will we have to wait for Monique to bring in more vases?” I asked.

*

“Not necessarily.” Sean said, looking toward the back room.  “Did you notice the stairwell back there?”

*

“Yes…” I said.  I wasn’t sure where he was going with this.

*

*

*

*

“Andre’s office is probably up there.  I need to go have a look, because I might be able to find Monique’s contact information up there.  A phone number, a home or email address…something.” Sean explained.

*

“Ah…perfect!  You’re right…we can’t just wait around for her to finally bring us the right vase.  She may not even have it anymore.” I whispered.

*

“Exactly.  I need to see if there’s a way to contact her directly or find out where she’s staying.  The only other option is to stake out this place.”  Sean said.

*

“Well…actually, why don’t we wait for her to come here, instead?” I asked uncertainly.  “I watched her come here yesterday afternoon—if he calls her again, then we can just watch the place.”

*

*

*

*

“We don’t know that Monique is his only procurer.  He might call someone else.  Besides…I’m impatient.” Sean admitted.

*

“Since when is impatience a good reason for a risky action?” I asked.

*

“You wound me—this isn’t even close to risky.  And even if it were, it would be worth it.  If I find her local address, we’ll go straight to her and approach her there, provided she doesn’t have a lot of company.” Sean said.

*

“Well…how are you going to get up to his office without him noticing?  You think he’ll invite you up?” I asked.

*

*

*

*

Sean beckoned for me to come closer, and I complied.

*
“Actually…that’s where you come in.” he said.

*

“What do you mean?” I asked.

*

“I mean you are going to distract him.” Sean said.  When he pulled back, his mouth had stretched into a wickedly mischievous grin.

*

*

*

*

“You have to be kidding.” I said.

*

“Nope.  You’re going to use your feminine wiles to keep Andre looking right at your pretty face and listening only for your velvety voice.” Sean said.

*

“I don’t have any wiles.  My set was lost in the mail.” I said.  He can’t be serious! I thought.

*

*

*

*

“I beg to differ.” Sean said.  I felt my breath hitch as he accompanied this statement with a startlingly sweet smile.

*

“I’m flattered by your confidence in my…abilities.  But I’ve been treating him like gum on the bottom of my shoe—he’s not going to start kissing my feet if I bat my eyelashes at him.” I said.

*

“You’d be surprised what a guy will strive to believe if he thinks it might get him laid.”  Sean said bluntly.  I struggled to keep from blushing.

*

“Fine.” I said on a sigh.  “This is going to be a disaster, but maybe it will be a distracting disaster.”  Sean just shook his head and laughed.

*

*

*

*

Moments later, we heard Andre end his call, and he came into the front room.

*

“I am sorry for the interruption.  My mother is elderly, and when I get a call from her I worry it is an emergency.  I do hope you will not decide to take your business elsewhere because you are disappointed in my current inventory.”  Andre said.

*

“I am sure you are doing your best, Mr. Lefebvre.” I said, trying to inject some warmth into the statement.  Andre’s eyes widened at the change in my demeanor.  This isn’t going to work! I thought.

*

*

*

*

“We will be happy to view any new inventory you are able to get, just be sure to give me a call when it comes….” Sean began, but trailed off, patting his pockets and frowning.  “Oh…you know….I can’t seem to find my…. cell phone.”

*

“Where did you last use it?” I asked, sounding exasperated.

*

“I think I was checking my messages in the back room….excuse me…I’m just going to look for it.” Sean said, before darting out and leaving me alone with Andre.

*

*

*

*

“You know, Mr. Lefebvre….I cannot help but be impressed by your apparent concern and care for your mother.” I said, summoning what I hoped was a winsome smile.  Andre’s face was a perfect picture of shocked surprise.

*

“Well, Mademoiselle…” Andre began.

*

“Please Mr. Lefebvre….call me Edith.”  I practically purred.  Inwardly, I was rolling my eyes at myself.

*

“Then please call me Andre.” he purred right back. 

*

This should not be working….I thought with dismay.  Out of curiosity more than a desire to accomplish the goal of keeping Andre occupied, I pressed on with the flirting.

*

*

*

*

“You were saying?” I murmured, trying to look like I was living only to hear his next sentence.

*

“I uh…I am very close to my mother.” Andre stuttered.

*

“It is so refreshing to find a man who takes care of his mother.  I think it is indicative of a man’s true worth.  My mother always said that you can tell how well a man will treat you if you look at how he treats his mother.” I drawled.  Andre’s eyes had gone soft and heavy-lidded, and he was leaning into my personal space.

*

I kept listening for Sean’s steps above us, but I never heard a thing.  I tried to keep the tension out of my stance.

*

*

*

*

“Your mother sounds like a lovely woman.” Andre said, trying to make his brown eyes look like melted chocolate.

*

“She is.” I said.  It was the first thing I’d said that wasn’t a lie.

*

“She would have to be to have such a lovely daughter.” he continued.

*

Good grief….I thought.

*

*

*

*

“Why Andre….are you trying to charm me?” I asked coquettishly.

*

“Would that be a bad thing?” he asked.

*

“It would only be bad if you stopped.” I said in what I hoped was a seductive manner.  I faltered as I saw Sean over Andre’s shoulder.

*

“Found my phone!” Sean sang out as he strode into the room.

*

*

*

*

“Mr. Sinclair.  How timely.” I ground out, trying to appear irritated.

*

“Miss Fisher, we should leave so you can make your three o’clock conference call.” Sean said.

*

“Very well.  Goodbye, Andre.  We’ll be in touch.” I said, offering my hand and letting my fingers slide over his in a caress.

*

*

*

*

“So?” I asked once we were safely outside.  “Did you find anything?”

*

“Yes.  I found Andre’s computer…and his list of contacts.” Sean said smugly.

*

“You got Monique’s email address?” I asked.

*

“Yes…but I used it to do something even better.”  Sean said.

*

“What did you do?” I asked.

*

*

*

*

“I sent an email to Monique from Andre’s account setting up a meeting.  She’ll think it’s from him.  If this works, she’ll come to Alexis’s Relics tonight at 11:00 P.M.”  Sean said.  “Now let’s get back to the house—we have a lot to do.”

*

*

*

<– Previous chapter

Next chapter –>

28 thoughts on “Chapter 12. Feminine Wiles

  1. Pingback: Chapter 11. A Short Solo Excursion « Rachel's Sims Stories

  2. “My set was lost in the mail.” LOL! That seriously made me grin.

    Go Ed! Haha, I loved this. The fact that the way she sees herself doesn’t get in the way of her duty/performance. And what a performance! Totally believable each step of the way. Yeah, Andre was not going to be able to resist her.

    And ah, Sean, you just keep trying to tell her how awesome and pretty she is.

    • LunarFox: I’m glad you liked that line…it was probably my favorite of this chapter.

      I thought she did very well, given that she was sure it wouldn’t work. That’s probably one of her defining characteristics–sometimes she’ll try to do things even if she thinks they won’t work, ultimately. I’m so relieved that her performance was believable…I couldn’t believe how difficult it was to come up with dialogue for that part. It’s like my mind just went blank (probably because my feminine wiles were lost in the mail, too).

      I’m thinking that one of the main changes we’ll see in Ed over the stories is that she’ll gain more confidence. It will be bolstered not only by the people she works with, but also by her seeing her success with her own eyes. Once she starts gaining confidence, we’ll see some really surprising actions. 🙂

  3. Yeeeee! This is getting intense. Andre’s in for a surprise, as in Monique. And once again, lovely dress on Ed, she really plays the boss part well.

    • Amelia: Yes–it is time to ramp up the tension. I’ve had a lot of back-story and lead-up and character development going on…and now it’s time to finally bring in Monique and get to even more exciting things.

      I’m glad that you think Ed is pulling off the boss part–as you know, she has very mixed feelings about her talents in this area. She can’t help but gain confidence after this interaction. 🙂

      • I’m excited to get into the drama. Maybe even another sticky situation like the one with Iris at the coffee shop?!

        And ha! ha! ha! Ed is going to have to realize that she is more attractive than she thinks.

      • Amelia: I’m excited too….a meeting with Monique should prove very interesting. 🙂

        Maybe she’ll realize that someday…she’ll certainly gain some confidence as the series progresses.

  4. LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!!!!! :D:D:D:D:D lolololololololol!!!!!!!!!
    *dies from laughing too hard* *comes back to life* THAT WAS SO FUNNY!!! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D “It is so refreshing to find a man who takes care of his mother. I think it is indicative of a man’s true worth. My mother always said that you can tell how well a man will treat you if you look at how he treats his mother.” LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!!! :D:D:D:D:D
    Aaaaaand… “I beg to differ.” Sean said. I felt my breath hitch as he accompanied this statement with a startlingly sweet smile.
    “I’m flattered by your confidence in my…abilities. :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D HIP HIP HOOOOOORRAAAAAAYYYY!!!!! 😀 Happy me! 😀

    • Mau: I’m happy you were so entertained! 🙂

      I swear, it was so hard to write the dialogue for her part with Andre. I was really struggling, and nearly scrapped the flirting part. I was on the verge of making her just gripe at him a lot when I thought of what I nearly had him say when he came back in the room (apologize for the call because it was his ailing elderly mother). Then I thought of that advice, and went from there. 🙂

      Sean has quite a way with boosting a girl’s confidence, doesn’t he? The contrast between his and Nick’s personalities couldn’t be more clear here. Sean is a “throw her in and see if she sinks or swims” kinda guy, and Nick is more of a “let’s give her lessons in the shallow end and then accompany her when she strikes out for the deep end” kinda guy. But then again, that’s probably because Sean is very confident in his ability to salvage any situation. 😉

  5. Clever, clever, Sean! Every time I read detective stories or watch movies, I’m reminded of what a terrible, terrible investigator I’d make. I wouldn’t think of any of this stuff!

    Ed flirting with Andre was too funny. I could just imagine her internally rolling her eyes at his “charm”!

    Also, I just wanted to say I love the way you dress Ed! Her clothes always fit the scene really well and are really cute to boot. 😉

    • Carla: I’m glad that Sean is impressing you with his cleverness and that Ed’s flirting scene was amusing. I know I would certainly have been rolling my eyes–but she did try to elicit his interest, so….she can’t make too much fun of him. 🙂

      Thank you! I like the challenge of figuring out what would be a realistic thing for her to wear. She’s much braver in her wardrobe than I am, though–I wear mostly jeans and t-shirts, and anything that’s fairly shapeless, lol.

  6. Ed looks lovely! That girl can flirt! lol. It’s funny that she didn’t even know she was capable of such a thing. Can’t wait to see the effects of the self esteem boost.

    Sean’s dropping hints like no other. 🙂

    Great read, Rachel!

    • Nessva: I thought our Ed cleaned up pretty well. I might have to find a way to get Ed to discuss her dating history…and maybe that would shed light on her low confidence in her abilities to tempt the opposite sex.

      Sean is definitely dropping the hints–hopefully Ed will stop throwing herself pity parties enough to pick up on them, lol.

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

  7. It’s okay Ed! My set was lost in the mail as well! Haha. I love that little line Sean says. “I beg to differ.” That was great! I’m sure others agree with me that we can’t wait to see their relationship go a bit further! They’re such a great match! But I like that it doesn’t automatically fall into the lovey dovey romance. It’s realistic. I love it.

    • Amelia: I’m sure Ed would feel better knowing that those wiles are lost in the mail all the time, lol. Sean, of course, isn’t buying it. 🙂 Perhaps because he feels like he’s been the victim of them?

      Regarding their relationship…well, my lips have to remain sealed, of course. 😉

      I’m so glad you are enjoying the story and I’m really so grateful that you are still reading and commenting. 🙂 Thank you!

  8. Pingback: Chapter 13. Following Monique « Rachel's Sims Stories

  9. I am catching up. I really need a better system when it comes to keeping up with reading stories.

    It was interesting to see Edith doing something she normally wouldn’t do. I was quite amused by the fact that she was shocked that her ‘wiles’ were working. She is certainly unaware of her charms.

    Could this mean that Sean is trying to tell her something?

    • Carnaxa: I was wondering where you were! I figured you were taking a break….sometimes I can’t handle reading so many Sim stories at once, so I focus on a few and make the rounds whenever I can. 🙂

      Ed isn’t at all confident in her ability to attract men. We might find out more about why that is later…..

      Sean is very likely trying to tell her something. He doesn’t have the same hang-ups she does about the nature of attraction–he knows that any number of things can influence whether someone is attractive or perceived as attractive, and that many of those things have very little to do with just one or two characteristics of a person.

      Thank you for coming back! 🙂

  10. Wow, fabulous job on this chapter. Ed still doesn’t realize that she is a good detective… which isn’t a bad thing, but a part of her character.

    • 4boots: Thanks! Ed has a hard time accepting praise from Sean, probably because she’s convinced he’s laughing at her most of the time.

Leave a comment